Should I stay or should I go?

There aren’t very many rules I live by. But there is one rule I do live by almost religiously, and it has served me well over the years. It is the following simple rule:

If you can’t make a decision, choose whichever option means more change.

Whenever I asked myself, should I stay or should I go, the answer was go, simply by following that rule.

When I need to make a decision, I consider the pros and cons of each option. Often, a winner emerges, and the choice is simple. It’s when there is no clear winner that I begin to ask myself, should I choose option A or option B? Should I stay or should I go? That’s when I follow the rule - because I have already considered the pros and cons of each option, and there wasn’t a clear winner.

This simple rule keeps me going, changing, in flow.

 
25
Kudos
 
25
Kudos

Now read this

A scientist in startup land

A few months ago, I decided to leave academia to pursue a startup idea I’ve had been thinking about for too long not to try it. This is the logbook of my journey. It’s a way for me to be able to remember this time in the future, and to... Continue →